Boys Basketball
Girls Basketball
Boys Cross Country
Girls Cross Country
Boys Golf
Girls Golf
Boys Lacrosse
Girls Lacrosse
Boys Soccer
Girls Soccer
Boys Tennis
Girls Tennis
Boys Track
Girls Track
Boys Volleyball
Girls Volleyball

Scholar Athletes
Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame

  The East Suburban Catholic Conference will honor its 11th Hall of Fame Class of eight on Thursday, April 7 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall. The group includes some of the finest athletes, coaches and administrators in the state of Illinois since the ESCC began in 1974.

                                          2015 Program   2015    2014    2012   2011    2010    2009  
     2007 Program/Cover (PDF)      2006 Program (PDF)     
Original Class


Class of 2016
Lissa Vogley, Benet Academy
Jim Nolan, Carmel Catholic
Jim Mendenhall, Marian Catholic
Gene Nolan, Marist
John Bowler, Notre Dame
Br. Peter Hannon, Saint Joseph
Mike Bailey, Saint Patrick
Paul Ducato, Saint Viator

2014 Gallery of Induction

The Class of 2015...
2016 ESCC Hall of Fame

ESCC Hall of Fame to induct eight on April 7

   Along with some highly successful prep and collegiate athletes, veteran coaches highlight a Hall of Fame Class of eight when the East Suburban Catholic Conference inducts its 11th class on Thursday, April 7 at Crystal Sky Banquet Hall in McCook, Ill.
   Basketball mentors headline the class, including Saint Patrick current head coach Mike Bailey, a member of multiple Halls of Fame who is approaching the 500 career wins. Bailey has led the Shamrocks to nine IHSA Regional titles and two sectional crowns.
   A successful player and coach at Marist, Gene Nolan has guided the RedHawks to four regional titles in 16 campaigns. He also still holds Marist career records for free throw and three-point percentage. Former Marian Catholic head coach and current round ball staff member Jim Mendenhall has also made his mark for more than 25 years as a head track and golf coach, winning five ESCC golf titles and 11 IHSA regional titles.
   Longevity and success characterize Carmel Catholic boys golf Coach Jim Nolan, who guided the Corsairs to five ESCC titles and two top-five IHSA state finishes in 35 years. Nolan has also coached hockey for 17 years. St. Joseph soccer Coach Brother Peter Hannon, FSC, developed the Chargers into a state power, claiming four ESCC crowns, two sectional titles and on Elite Eight appearance in 11 seasons.
   The Class is rounded out by three standout athletes, including Notre Dame’s John Bowler, who was a four-year starter at Eastern Michigan University, where he earned All-Mac honors and led EMU in scoring and rebounding in 2006. Before wrestling at University of Illinois, St. Viator’s Paul Ducato was a three-time All-ESCC wrestler. Lissa Vogley dominated in cross country and track at Benet Academy, winning three ESCC and IHSA regional cross country titles and capturing all-state honors in the 3,200 in 1996-98.
   Tickets reservations ($50) for the 7 p.m. dinner (6 p.m. reception) on April 7 may be made through any of the ESCC school athletic departments and more information and history are also available on the ESCC web site at
   The 1976 Joliet Catholic football state champions will be recognized at the April 7 event as well.The 11th ESCC Hall of Fame class brings the number of current inductees to 116, representing nine of the current 10 member schools and former members Fenwick, Holy Cross, Providence Catholic and Saint Joseph.
   More information about the ESCC Hall of Fame or induction dinner may be obtained by contacting Chair Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame High School Athletic Director, at 847-779-8652.

Previous Hall of Fame Classes

Class of 2015 (release)
Philip Goforth, Benet Academy
Justin Pierro, Benet Academy
Jennifer Eckhart, Carmel Catholic
Michael Fitzgibbons, Carmel Catholic
Tim Kelly, Marian Catholic
Casey Taylor, Marian Catholic
Maurice Mitchell, Marist
Dennis Zelasko, Notre Dame
Rudy Presslak, Saint Patrick
Tony Freeman, Sr., Saint Joseph
Tony Freeman, Jr., Saint Joseph
Pat Mahoney, Saint Viator
Diana Morrow, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2014
Dan Nagis, Benet Academy
Peter Paul, Benet Academy
Jack Simmons, Carmel Catholic
Mark Venegone, Carmel Catholic
Adam Savick, Marian Catholic
Tony Evensen, Marist
Gary Kostrubala, Marist
Jack Halpin, Saint Viator
John Dacey, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2013
Gary Goforth, Benet Academy
Mark Yanule, Notre Dame
Dan Santucci, Saint Patrick
Jon Schaus, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2012 (release)
Jerry O'Connor, Benet Academy
Jordan Wilson, Benet Academy
Jon Mikrut, Carmel Catholic
Mike Gavin, Marian Catholic
Carl Cozen, Marist
Don Kuehner, Marist
Bill Besenhofer, Notre Dame
Zach Bukal, Notre Dame
Niall Collins, Saint Patrick
Tim McGarigle, Saint Patrick
Tim Phillips, Saint Viator
Ken Maziarka, ESCC Assignment Chair

Class of 2011
Henry Wind, Benet Academy
Rod Whittier, Carmel Catholic
J.R. Zwierzynski, Joliet Catholic
Kerri Evans, Marian Catholic
Rodney Harrison, Marian Catholic
Paul Andreotti, Marist
Br. Richard Grenier, Marist
Jeff Dyra, Saint Patrick
Joe Majkowski, Saint Viator

Class of 2010
Kate Enoch, Benet
Dan Sharp, Joliet Catholic
Kevin Kelly, Marian Catholic
Jerry Verde, Marian Catholic
Larry Tucker, Marist
Bob Beckman, Notre Dame

Mike Hennessey, Notre Dame
Nan Airola, Providence
Patrick Duggan, St. Patrick
Jeff Berndt, St. Joseph
John Josten, St. Viator
Scott Zetek, St. Viator

Class of 2009
Sue Vodrazka, Benet
Kevin Kristan, Carmel Catholic
Don Heldmann, Fenwick
Bob Koleno, Holy Cross
Mike Goolsby, Joliet Catholic
Terrence Marable, Marian Catholic
Pat Quinn, Marist
Jack Cole, Notre Dame
Deryl Cunningham, St. Joseph
Dr. Joseph Schmidt, St. Patrick
Lynn Gaziano, St. Viator

Class of 2008
Joseph Fedinec, Benet
Jim Halford, Carmel
Dana Ballard, Fenwick
Emily Marino, Joliet Catholic
Kathryn Gleason, Marian Catholic
Al Brazen, Marist
Augie Genovesi, Notre Dame
Tony Reeder, St. Joseph
George Strnad, St. Joseph
Doug Reibel, St. Patrick
Mike Taylor, St. Viator

Class of 2007
Denise (Boylan) Egner, Benet
Scott Stahoviak, Carmel
Dr. James Quaid, Fenwick
Bob Stone, Joliet Catholic Academy
Mickey Griffin, Marian Catholic
Mark Gervais, Marist
Len Sitko, Notre Dame
Daryl Thomas, St. Joseph
Len Bertolini, St. Patrick
Mike Mroczek, St. Patrick
Bill Pirman, St. Viator
John Gillen, St. Viator

Class of 2006
(Inaugural Hall of Famers)
Ron Baumgartner, Benet (Pioneer, AD)
Joe Scordino, Carmel (Coach)
Jeff Zgonina, Carmel (Athlete)
Dave Power, Fenwick (Coach)
Mike Alstott, JCA (Athlete)
Gordie Gillespie, JCA (Coach)
Dave Mattio, Marian (Coach, AD)
Ray Balcarcel, Marist (Coach)
Bill Casey, Notre Dame (Coach, AD)
Jim Les, Notre Dame (Athlete)
Gene Pingatore, St. Joseph (Coach)
Isiah Thomas, St. Joseph (Athlete)
Max Kurland, St. Patrick (Coach)
Robert Artman, St. Viator (Administrator)
Jim Lyne, St. Viator (Coach)
Brother Richard Brady (Pioneer, ESCC)

Last Modified: February 19, 2016
Copyright © 2004 East Suburban Catholic Conference
No part of this publication may be reproduced, transmitted, transcribed, stored in any retrieval system, or translated in any form without the written permission of the East Suburban Catholic Conference.